View from Homer Tunnel

I’m back!! Well sort of. My soul is still in the mountains where I’ve been playing over the past month or so. I’d like to get back there as much as possible, but while I’m bound to this computer again, at least I have the flickr photos to remind me.

TALO2006 – The Future of Learning in a Networked World book and DVD is almost ready for printed distribution. The free PDF is there at the moment, I’m just waiting for the printed proof to come through and check it before making a full colour and bound version available. By then Steven should have finished the DVD too. We hope Lulu will enable us to distribute them together, making it a pretty awesome package chock full of challenging insights and recorded media from the tour.

Other exciting news is that I’ve made some progress in terms of getting Creative Commons into my place of work’s IP policy. It seems the senior managers are willing to use a CC-By license as a default statement on all IP – unless an individual owner or stakeholder indicates otherwise. I think that’s a great way to go about it. It enables the organisation to go open courseware, it gives the ultimate ownership of IP to the individuals who created it, and makes it possible to protect cultural heritage or commercial interests if need be (rather than as a default and therefore restricting the proven benefits of sharing under Creative Commons).

There is a slight sticking point, which is not too significant. It is the absence of a NZ Creative Commons statement. I checked with Creative Commons International and was told that it is underway and was introduced to Danyl Strype. Danyl tells me that a group in the North have it underway including the very early stages of a portal site. I’ve joined the CC NZ mailing list and introduced myself, but so far no replies… hope I didn’t scare them off with my usual over enthusiasm.. I don’t think I’ll ever learn to play it cool😦

Derek Wenmoth points to some other work being done by Stephen Marshell to challenge NZ’s woeful copyright legislation in terms of it addressing digital works. But while Stephen’s preamble is strong and to the point, some of his suggested amendments are still only patching the problem in my view (line 58 as an example affecting open courses).

Personally, I hope NZ takes the opportunity that being far behind offers us and leaps ahead with a beautiful solution to copyright madness – similar to their position on no nuclear power, arms or testing; a treaty with Maori, a signatory to Kyoto Protocol; no whaling; liberal imigration… how about a radical rejection of the copyright madness that grips the world? How about something totally fresh and liberating?! I think CreativeCommons as an information portal links to many insightful ideas on the issues.